Welcome to the Real-World Lab Accessibility
We are concerned with the design, development and evaluation of novel technologies that can be leveraged by disabled people to lead self-determined lives. By examining the interplay between digital technology and physical space, our work also asks whether and how the presence of technology can enhance our usage and experience in space. The goal of the Real-World Lab Accessibility is to open up new perspectives on technology, spaces, and their potential to appreciate human diversity, thereby contributing to more inclusive societies.
We work in close collaboration with ACCESS@KIT, the Center for Digital Accessibility and Assistive Technology that supports disabled students in their studies at KIT. 
 
NEWS
A picture of VR glasses lying on a table
Workshop at MUC 2024

 

We are pleased to announce that our workshop "Envisioning the Future of Accessible Immersive Technology: Creating a Roadmap and Building Community" has been accepted for this year's Mensch & Computer conference in Karlsruhe. You can find the participation details and more information about participating in the workshop here.

 

A abstract depiction of neuro diversity at work.
Publication at CHIWORK 2024

 

We are pleased to announce that our submission "Neurodivergence and Work in Human-Computer Interaction: Mapping the Research Landscape" has been accepted and will be published at the CHIWORK Conference 2024. We will present it at the end of June in Newcastle upon Tyne (UK). The paper describes a literature review in the field of neurodivergence and technology in the context of work.

She.codes
Girls' Day


Our Real-World Lab Accessibility organizes together with she.codes the workshop "Games for Everyone on the Calliope Mini-Computer Programming" for the Girls' Day at KIT, which takes place on 25.04.2024. More information and registration can be found on the workshop website.

Das Reallabor Barrierefreiheit beschäftigt sich mit der Gestaltung, Entwicklung und Evaluation neuer Technologien, die von behinderten Menschen genutzt werden können, um ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu führen. Durch die Betrachtung des Zusammenspiels digitaler Technologien und realen Raums stellt unsere Forschung die Frage, ob und wie die Anwesenheit von Technologien unsere Nutzung und Erleben von Räumen verbessert. Ziel des Reallabors ist es, neue Perspektiven auf Technologien, Räume und deren Potenzial zur Wertschätzung menschlicher Vielfalt eröffnen, und damit zu einer inklusiveren Gesellschaft beizutragen.

Wir arbeiten eng mit ACCESS@KIT zusammen. Das Zentrum für digitale Barrierefreiheit und Assistive Technologien unterstützt sehbehinderte Studierende am KIT.

A picture of VR glasses lying on a table
Workshop im Rahmen der MuC 2024

 

Wir freuen uns mitzuteilen, dass unser Workshop „Envisioning the Future of Accessible Immersive Technology: Creating a Roadmap and Building Community“ für die diesjährige Mensch & Computer Konferenz in Karlsruhe angenommen wurde. Interessierte finden hier mehr Informationen zur Teilnahme am Workshop.

 

A abstract depiction of neuro diversity at work.
Veröffentlichung bei CHIWORK 2024

 

Wir freuen uns mitzuteilen, dass unsere Einreichung „Neurodivergence and Work in Human-Computer Interaction: Mapping the Research Landscape“ auf der CHIWORK Konferenz 2024 angenommen wurde, welche Ende Juni in Newcastle upon Tyne (UK) stattfindet. Der Beitrag beschreibt eine Literatur-Recherche im Themengebiet Neurodivergenz und Technologie im Kontext Arbeit.

She.Codes
Barrierefreiheit Thema beim Girls' Day 2024

 

Unser Real-World Lab Accessibility organisiert zusammen mit she.codes den Workshop "Spiele für Alle auf dem Calliope Mini-Computer Programmieren" für den Girls' Day am KIT, welcher am 25.04.2024 stattfindet. Mehr Informationen sowie die Anmeldung finden Sie auf der Webseite des Workshops.